Grant

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
5000+ Posts Club
Oct 27, 2020
USD
$134.3000USD
Biznotes
I've seen a couple topics about halving. I heard about Bitcoin halving, and other crypto halving, is it literally them cutting the currency in half, so that there is less of the currency available? Is that the correct way of putting it? Please do correct me if I'm wrong, I am still learning about crypto every day.

I've seen a couple topics about halving. I heard about Bitcoin halving, and other crypto halving, is it literally them cutting the currency in half, so that there is less of the currency available? Is that the correct way of putting it? Please do correct me if I'm wrong, I am still learning about crypto every day.
The halving is a process that happens under proof of work blockchains, that is, mining with hardware, from time to time, or rather every certain blocks of transactions, the reward that miners receive for validating these blocks is reduced by half. For example, in Bitcoin it is every 4 years, or 210,000 blocks, before the first halving the miners received 50 BTC per block, in the first halving it was reduced to 25, in the second 12.5, in the third 6.25, which is the amount current and now in April it will be reduced again and they will receive 3,125 BTC each block.

Thank you for clearing that up a bit. So you could buy into Bitcoin at the halving as it will drop down in price? How much could it drop down?
Quite the opposite, if you look at the chart, some time after the halving the price rises a lot, and I explain why, miners start to receive fewer bitcoins, so fewer bitcoins flow to the market, if the demand remains the same or increases, there will be a shock in the supply since there are fewer bitcoins and the market perceives it as more scarce, which causes its price to go up.