What's new

Advice for anyone thinking of investing?

_B_

Resident Member
500 Posts Club
May 18, 2020
USD
$0.0000USD
Biznotes
So, I am quite new to this scene. I have read and tried (via a simulator) a bit of trading via stocks, forex etc. I would just like to hear some experience/tips/advice from anyone who's got a bit more knowledge in this area.

Start young, invest in high quality, low expense, diversified ETFs and set-up automatic weekly/monthly contributions to cost average your investments.

If you make a consistent paycheck and are not living paycheck to paycheck then definitely consider doing some type of investing. Start off slow and use the amount of money you're willing to risk losing. When I was in my 20s my husband and I started off investing in mutual funds and I was frightened by the prospect of losing our money! His friends were all doing it and they were professionals looking to make more money so we agreed to invest into the same funds they did. We made thousands of dollars but then when the economy fell we lost thousands of dollars!! Knowing that your investments are not short term really helps to not panic at that great loss. We've since recouped our loss but we know that it does go up and down. We've also changed funds once we saw that the ones we were in were not gaining as they once were. Look at a prospectus and choose carefully.

One safe way you can count on in this journey is by investing in index funds first. That way you wouldn't have your fingers burnt much and you can be earning while gaining knowledge about the stock market and its workings.

Well , It would be really beneficial to you as someone who has interest in the foreign exchange market to source for more knowledge by taking courses or meeting professionals who would teach you more about reading charts and how to make good technical analysis because this is one of the most important skill when trading forex.