What's new

Has anyone here moved away from Apple/Windows to Linux?

glitch

beep boop
1000 Posts Club
Mar 16, 2022
USD
$0.0000USD
Biznotes
I made the switch about 10 years ago and I completely moved away from Windows entirely in 2019. I have not looked back. I moved away from it as I value privacy, security, and opensource software is just more trustworthy and reliable. Has anyone here moved away from Apple/Windows to Linux?

I made the switch about 10 years ago and I completely moved away from Windows entirely in 2019. I have not looked back. I moved away from it as I value privacy, security, and opensource software is just more trustworthy and reliable. Has anyone here moved away from Apple/Windows to Linux?
I haven't. I'm not technically inclined so am quite cautious & wary doing anything that is tech involved. I wouldn't mind however switching over. Do you perhaps know if Linux has a version of Microsoft Word & would somebody be able to move Word over to the Linux version?

Sure, that makes the two of us. I made the switch from Windows to Linux about five years ago, and it's been a game-changer for me. Like you, I value privacy, security, and the transparency that comes with open-source software. Linux offers a wide range of distributions and customization options, making it an excellent choice for those seeking a more tailored and reliable computing experience. Moving away from proprietary operating systems was a decision I haven't regretted, and I'm glad to be a part of the Linux community. If anyone else here has made the switch, I'd love to hear about your experiences too!

I've used Linux on a couple of my PCs, and some I used as my daily driver for years. My current PC has Windows 10, but my laptop/tablet combo (currently broken) has Ubuntu on it. I need to get it fixed soon, but have been putting it off.