What's new

What is the Best Anti-Bot/Captcha?

Alex

I'd would strongly suggesting using Google's reCAPTCHA. It's completly free to use, check out there website here with more information. As a webmaster, I used Google's reCAPTCHA and I managed to solve the bots and spam issue. Do you own a website? What Anti-Bot tool are using and what would your recommend and why?

I'm hopeful that XenForo will look at integrating reCAPTCHA v3, because spam scripts still seem to be getting through v2.

Ultimately I don't think there is an individual solution and best practice should now be to implement multiple anti-bot measures, such as Stop Forum Spam integration, banning disposable email domains, as well as some form of CAPTCHA. The more, the better.

I also go blindly with Recaptcha from Google because it can tackle a lot of spammers. I have never tested with spammers, but it will do and in these days hackers are breaking that captcha too.

I'm using phpBB for my forum and at first I used their captcha that came with the software system but I have a lot of elderly friends who wanted to sign up but couldn't read the captcha. So at the suggestion from a friend who used to do phpBB forums, I switched to the Sortable Captcha and I haven't had any complaints. I also haven't had any spammers sign up so I'm assuming it's working fine.

Just thought I would update this since I no longer use any form of CAPTCHA, to the untrained eye my forums are completely naked!

However, it's being defended in the background with a script called Spaminator. It seems to be pretty reliable and blocks automated signups before the account is even created, plus it also keeps things nice and straightforward for legitimate signups.

I still have disposable email domains blocked, but for every one you block five more are likely to appear in its place.