Owner
Staff member
Administrative Team
1000 Posts Club
May 4, 2015
USD
$109.8000USD
Biznotes
In the workplace, do you think it’s acceptable to wear knee length shorts? Skirts are allowed but most boys I know wouldn’t want to turn up to work wearing one.

If the shorts are smart, is there an issue? I work as a Security Officer for G4S and shorts are prohibited even if they are knee length and smart. With temperatures rising to 20-30 degrees Celsius and no air conditioning, it makes the jobs of security officers very difficult and hot to do.

What’s your view on this?

I had a job as a hotel security guard, there were times that I went with shorts, since we did not have a specific uniform, my boss told me that it was very inappropriate to wear those pants and bought me a pair of long pants, I think it depends a lot on the job in question, but I wore those pants because it was summer and it was too hot.

Shorts do not fit into the formal category and is not allowed in almost all formal settings including workplace.

I think we should be able to wear what makes us comfortable as long as we're not exposing ourselves. I think especially so if you're in a really hot environment and wearing a ton of clothes can be bad for you.

Thankfully I work from home, so don't have to worry about it.

It depends on the kind of work you do. People who work as security officers are generally prohibited from wearing shorts in many parts of the world. I presently work in a dredging site, I normally wear shorts to work.

I have honestly never understood why they have this in place not only in the workplace but in schools as well now.

When the weather gets as hot as it does now especially in the UK, many would feel much more comfortable wearing shorts and when it's not allowed, it can make it very uncomfortable for those working.