What's new

Ever had to go to court for any legal issues stemming from your own business?

Grant

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
5000+ Posts Club
Oct 27, 2020
USD
$134.3000USD
Biznotes
Has there ever been a time where you had to go to court because of something to do with your own business? Maybe you broke a rule or didn't follow the proper channels for something. I thankfully never had to go to court for anything with my sites, but there was times where I was worried I would have to.

There was a certain time in which I had to appear in court because of taxes issue but then it was quickly resolved because it was a mix-up in the side of the government.

There have never been anytime i was i went to court for any legal issue concerning my business, because i have not broken any business law yet, am doing a small business.

I've never been to court for a legal issue stemming from my own business, but I have been in court all the same. When I was in college, I worked as a cashier at a local grocery store. One day, an angry customer came in and started yelling at me about how he'd ordered the wrong item from the deli. He demanded that I give him his money back and gave me his card so that I could charge it back on his account.

I refused because it was clearly not my fault, so he got even angrier and said that if he didn't get his money back right then, he would sue me and the store for damages. At this point, another employee came over to us and told him that if he didn't calm down immediately, he would call the police and have him removed from the premises. The customer calmed down somewhat, but still demanded that we give him his money back or else there would be serious consequences for both of us.

It turns out that this guy was actually an attorney who had been disbarred years earlier after being caught embezzling funds from clients' accounts while working as an attorney at another firm.