What's new

Dynadot Founder Todd Han, starts a Ask Me Anything thread

Dynadot Founder Todd Han, starts a Ask Me Anything thread on namePros Starting Friday, May 22 from 4-6pm PDT.

I started Dynadot in 2002, in a spare bedroom at home. I still remember getting my first order for $7.99, and jumping up and down in excitement. Back then Verisign charged $6 per .com domain, and there was no ICANN fee yet. In those early days I did everything: customer service, website programming, accounting, and marketing. As the business grew I eventually rented an office and starting building the excellent team running the company today.

I have loved computers since I was a child. Writing code and solving technical problems always came naturally to me. I studied computer science in college, and spent many hours in the dark underground computer labs at UC Berkeley. Sadly I stopped coding about 2 years ago, to focus on strategy and management. But someday I plan to return to my first love, computer programming.

Why did I start Dynadot? I was building a website for my mother for her vacation house. I was using another registrar, and thought to myself I could write a better control panel. Being young and naive, I didn’t think that much and just jumped in and applied to be a registrar. It is a competitive and difficult industry, but I have enjoyed all these years, and am proud of what we have built.

What are some of the questions and answers you got from him?

I always had the question on how the domain registrar companies handle the dispute regarding the trademark and copyright related cases. Let's say I have trademark in australia. And someone buys the domain name dot com for it and is in USA. I am wondering how such trademarks can be handled. Do you see any specific way to handle it?